A for Alcohol

I don’t care how close we are, what state of mind you’re in, or how emotional you are at the time; don’t ever come to my house and disrespect my family in front of me.

If you get to a point where you can’t even remember what you did after a night and day of drinking, then maybe it’s time you stop drinking.

I am so sick of people blaming their actions and behaviour on alcohol, thinking they’re excused for what they did. It’s fucking bullshit. People forgive, but they never forget. The fights, the arguments, the hostility towards those who care most. In this day and age, people don’t even drink to have a good time anymore; they either drink to forget their problems, drink to start fights, or drink to express how they really feel.

The reason I’m even writing this is because I’ve been giving this person so many free passes and I think I’ve finally run out.

I’ve had my share of ugly mornings, but not once, have I ever woken up and forgotten what happened the night before. The blurry tears, the crazy rants, the pointless fights, the heated debates, the sad walkabouts, the angry sex – everything. I think you get to a point where you just know your limits, know what you can handle and what you can’t, know what your body can take and how much – you just know. Unfortunately for some, they don’t know when, or even care enough, to stop. And it’s dangerous. So many people blame alcohol for breaking up their relationships, or getting them into shit, but that’s not where the problem lies. The problem starts and ends with the person consuming it.

The fact that this person I’m upset with, is going to come over during the week, and tell me only what he recalls, is fucked up. And not because this isn’t the first time, not because I’m sick of hearing his confused apologies, but because I will never forget the hate I saw in his eyes and the way he disrespected my family in our own house.

What the fuck am I going to do? He’s my best friend.

Leave a Reply

