Fuck role-plays and “what would you do” situations

I almost failed an assessment the other day, because I suck at lying.

How often do you hear that shit?

So I was an “employee” and had to answer why our store closed 15mins earlier than the stated time, which was 5pm.

The first (and only) thought that came to mind was: ‘that’s none of your business.’

And to be fair, that was probably the only truth that came out of the whole assessment.

When applying for a job, they tell you to – “be yourself”. Which is understandable, there is, after all, only one of you in the entire world. But then again, they tell you to “fake it ’til you make it” which only tells me that you have to lie to kick it. In other words, you have to be somebody you’re not, in order to get to where you really want to be.

BUT, how the fuck, do you split your personality, in less than 10 minutes?

I thought that getting this qualification would enable me to find joy in pursuing a career in the business world. I thought wrong… Man, was I wrong.

I see all these tight-clothes wearing motherfuckers walking in and out of the office like they got tampons up their assholes. And then I think to myself: ‘do I really want to end up like them?’. It’s bad enough I can’t fake a smile to my own family. How the fuck am I supposed to fake a smile to strangers I don’t even know?

And I know the saying, “in order to do what you want to do, you have to do things that you don’t want to do.”

But damn, it’s like, I’m torn in between who I am, and who I want to be.

Leave a Reply

